Why do I need NJ real estate education from Polley Associates?
To earn a New Jersey real estate sales license, you must pass the state real estate licensing exam of 110 questions with a score of 70 or higher. To sit for the licensing exam, you must successfully complete the 75-hour salesperson training course.
That’s why we exist. Your specialized education is what we offer at Polley Associates.
I’ve already got a college degree. Why won’t that do?
State law requires this specific education before you can be licensed. You may already have a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctorate degree in any subject, but unless you majored in real estate it’s unlikely that education will qualify you to take the New Jersey real estate licensing exam.
There are exceptions (and, hey, what would life be without ’em?). You may be exempt if you are a practicing attorney, an out-of-state real estate salesperson, out-of-state real estate broker, or a disabled veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces. Please see the exemption waiver forms below to see if you qualify.
- Pennsylvania Broker Licensees
- Pennsylvania Salesperson Licensees
- Waiver of Education Criteria for Salesperson – Fillable MS Word or PDF
- Waiver of Education and/or Experience Criteria for Broker – Fillable MS Word or PDF
What if I miss a live class?
We sure hope you won’t. Each live class lesson in your course has been specifically designed to move you forward with knowledge you need. Besides, to pass the state demands you must attend at least 80 percent of the course. If you miss more than 15 hours of class time, you would have to make up time when the next course is offered.
You mean I’ve got to take a test before I take the exam?
Yes. The 75-hour course ends with a supervised (also known as “proctored”) test. You must earn a score of 70 or better on the exam to pass.
Don’t worry. Thousands of people take and pass this course every year. You can too. If you do the reading, if you complete the assignments, if you pay attention to class, you’ll even find the learning enjoyable and the test won’t be overwhelming.
What happens when I pass? Or (yikes!), what happens if I fail?
When a student passes the end-of-course exam, a certificate is e-mailed to him or her within 14 business days after the exam date. Think of a certificate as a report card; it’s the document that tells the state you met or exceeded the course’s minimum requirement. Polley will also upload your course completion status to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission database, so that state knows you completed the course.
If a student fails the end-of-the-course exam (sometimes stuff happens, we know), a retake exam appointment can be scheduled.